Tag Archives: Sprint race 1

Schwartzman leads a dominant drive to win the first sprint race in Baku

Robert Schwartzman has won the first F2 sprint race in Azerbaijan after leading a dominant drive as Dan Ticktum charged up the order to finish P2.

Schwarzman executed the safety car restart perfectly down the long pit-straight of Baku and built up a comfortable two-second gap to those behind.

The Prema driver dominated from start to finish to take his first win this season, making a good start off the line covering off Jehan Deruvala behind.

Dan Ticktum had strong pace around the streets of Baku, getting past both Marcus Armstrong and Ralph Bouchung after the safety car restart. The Carlin driver continued his excellent pace, challenging both Jehan Deruvala and Guanyu Zhou to get himself into second.  

Guanyu Zhou also had a strong race being able to hold back Marcus Armstrong behind in the opening laps. The Uni-Virtuosi driver set his race alight by the 8th Lap, using the long pit straight to his advantage and breezing past Jehan Deruvala with DRS.

It was first lap drama around the streets of Baku as Liam Lawson, who was hit by Felipe Drugovich behind, ending his race in the wall of the first corner of the first lap. Piastri then retired under the safety car on Lap two.

 The Racelab teammates of Jack Aitken and Alessio Deledda were also both out by the second corner of the race.

Theo Pourchaire took the extra two points for the fastest lap and made positive progress after losing out to Juri Vips on the safety car restart. The 17-year-old was able to get the place back in two laps. His race gained momentum, keeping pressure on the top five.

Ralph Boschung struggled to hold onto the pace of the top five, being passed by both Tiktum and Armstrong as well as being put under pressure from Theo Pourchaire but the Campos driver was able to get past Armstrong in the closing laps.

Marcus Armstrong had a largely strong race but was unable to keep the Pourchaire and Ralph Boschung behind to finish P7.

Provisional Classification

Guanyu Zhou takes second race win after a dominant drive in Monaco

Guanyu Zhou has extended his championship lead after winning the first sprint race in Monaco, leading a dominant drive converting his reverse grid pole into a sprint race win.

Zhou had a strong start off the line and into Turn 1 defending from Christian Lundgaard who took second position off the line (before later retiring) from Zhou’s teammate Felipe Drugovich who made it a Uni-Virtuosi 1-2. 

The Alpine junior driver led a dominant drive, opening the gap to second placed Lundgaard in the First half of the race, pulling out over a two second lead. Zhou increased his gap to the rest of the grid throughout the race.

A late safety car, caused by Gianluca Petecof’s collision with the wall, eliminated Zhou’s gap to the rest of the grid but a wall judged restart and the struggling tires of fellow Uni-Virtuosi driver and second placed Felipe Drugovich led to Zhou’s second race win of the season.

Roy Nissany took his maiden podium position in F2, finishing third, after inheriting the position due to the retirement of Lundgaard running in second. Nissany defended from Campos driver Ralph Boschung in 4th after the safety car restart, to take his best ever finish.  

The triumph of Lap 1 turned to heartbreak for Lundgaard by Lap 15; retiring from the race after suffering engine problems which left his ART-Grand-Prix car smoking and leaking oil around the streets of Monte Carlo.

Schwartzman continued his difficult start to the season, having collided with the wall on the first lap, which led to retirement. The Prema driver will start near the back of the field in the second sprint race.

Alessio Deledda was permitted by the FIA stewards to race in Monaco this weekend despite failing to post a time within the 107% of the fastest time set in Group B of qualifying on Thursday. He finished a lap down to the rest of the grid. The steward did not give a reason as to why Deledda was permitted to start the race

Marcus Armstrong spectacularly took 10th place from Jehan Daruvala in the closing corner of the race to start tomorrow’s sprint race from pole

Marcus Armstrong will start the second sprint race from pole tomorrow. Lights out 8:20am (Local Time) UTC+2

Final Classification