Three top venues for AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 confirmed

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 Local Organising Committee (LOC) have today confirmed the three host cities and stadiums, which will stage the Continent’s premier women’s national team competition.

The D.Y. Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, Ahmedabad’s TransStadia and the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar have been selected as the three stadiums and host cities that will provide the ultimate backdrop for some of the finest players in Asian and world women’s football from January 20 to February 6, 2022.

AFC General Secretary Dato’ Windsor John, said: “Women’s football in Asia is world-class, and the All India Football Federation (AIFF) and the LOC have selected exceptional venues that will deliver a true spectacle befitting the stature of the tournament.

“The AFC is grateful to the AIFF, the LOC and the three host cities for their dedication and we are confident that the tournament will serve as a catalyst to take women’s football in India, which continues to make significant strides, to even greater heights in the coming years.

“We applaud them for their vision and wish the AIFF and LOC the very best of success in their ambitions to showcase their capability to stage a successful international showpiece.”

In hosting the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022TM, the AIFF aims to promote widespread development and professionalism of the women’s game in the country while the decision to award  the hosting rights to India was anchored in maximising and expanding the reach of women’s football in the Continent.

AIFF President and FIFA Council Member Praful Patel said: “We are excited to kick off the new year with the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022. Ahmedabad, Bhubaneswar and Navi Mumbai have put in a lot of work to upgrade their footballing infrastructure.

“While we have seen Navi Mumbai deliver spectacularly in 2017 for the FIFA U-17 World Cup, we are taking the game to new places with Bhubaneswar and Ahmedabad through the two women’s tournaments next year, which is really encouraging for our overall football ecosystem.”

The Qualifiers for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022TM is set to take place from September 13 to 25, 2021 in centralised venues with the draw scheduled to be held on May 27, 2021 at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia at 3.30pm (local time).

DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

Inaugurated in 2008, the DY Patil Stadium is located on the outskirts of Mumbai and has world-class facilities capable of hosting multi-sports international events. With a stadium capacity of 37,900, DY Patil Stadium is the largest venue of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022TM.

As one of the six venues for the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 – the first FIFA tournament to be hosted in the country – football holds a special place in the stadium’s history, which was also the venue of the first-ever Indian Super League (ISL) final.

TransStadia, Ahmedabad

Officially opened on October 7, 2016, TransStadia was constructed under a public-private partnership and will be the newest of the three stadiums to host the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 TM.

As India’s first convertible stadium with a capacity of 20,000, it has a FIFA standard football pitch with an elevation of 4.8 metres as well as 14 hospitality boxes overlooking the pitch, which can be converted into guest rooms.

Most recently, TransStadia played host to the second edition of the Intercontinental Cup, which featured DPR Korea, hosts India, Syria and Tajikistan as well as two of Chennaiyin FC’s AFC Cup matches.

Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar

Built in 1978, Kalinga Stadium is a multi-purpose international stadium situated in the heart of the city of Bhubaneswar. The grounds have served as a focal point for several international sporting events ranging from athletics, football, field hockey, basketball, tennis, table tennis, volleyball, wall climbing and swimming.

The stadium, which has a capacity of over 15,000 and was recently refurbished, has successfully staged the Super Cup, the annual knock-out tournament between the Indian Super League and the I-League clubs, since the tournament’s inception.

Leave a Reply